Nursing in Turkey
Nursing connects biomedical knowledge with patient assessment, care planning and supervised clinical practice. When comparing universities, check the clinical placement arrangements, patient communication language and the requirements for practising in your intended country.
Nursing at a glance
Compare anatomy, physiology and pharmacology with patient care, ethics and health assessment. Ask how clinical placements are supervised and verify registration requirements in the country where you intend to practise.
Use the curriculum and university options below to build a shortlist. Confirm the exact degree level, teaching language, course sequence and practical requirements with each university; similar programme names do not make the courses interchangeable.
Wondering which discount applies to you?
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Study to Become a Nurse in Turkey
International applicants usually start with a school-leaving diploma, transcript and passport. The university assesses the application and sets its exam and language requirements. An accepted language certificate may provide an exemption; otherwise, a university test or preparatory course may be available. Confirm when the university requires school-diploma equivalence (denklik). Nursing normally takes four years, excluding any preparation. Admission and scholarship decisions belong to the university or funding body.
Study plan
The degree takes four years. The list below shows a typical sequence from biomedical foundations to supervised clinical practice; course titles, order and credits differ by university, so compare it with the published curriculum of each programme you shortlist.
- Anatomy and physiology
- Microbiology
- Fundamentals of nursing and basic care skills in the skills lab
- Nursing ethics and communication
- Pharmacology
- Health assessment
- Medical and surgical nursing for adults
- Pediatric nursing
- Mental health nursing
- Public health nursing
- Intensive care nursing
- Nursing management and teamwork
- Long supervised clinical placements; hours and hospitals vary by university
Where graduates work
Practising as a nurse requires registration in the country where you work; specialist nursing roles usually need further training. Roles graduates commonly move into:
Hospital nurse: cares for adult, surgical or pediatric patients on shifts, once registered in the country where you work.
Outpatient, rehabilitation or home-care nurse: follows patients outside the hospital ward.
Public health or school nurse: runs vaccination, screening and health education programmes.
Intensive care, pediatric or psychiatric nurse: the degree gives clinical exposure to these areas; the specialist role usually needs experience, extra training or certification.
Nurse educator or manager: usually after clinical experience and a master’s; a PhD leads to university teaching and research.
Working abroad: the regulator of the target country checks the diploma, theory and clinical hours, language and often an exam before registration, so keep a detailed transcript and proof of clinical hours.
Should you choose Nursing?
It clicks if you…
- did well in biology and chemistry at school
- are ready for shift work, physical effort and close contact with patients from the first placements
- are ready to learn the language used with patients; ask the department about the level and deadline for each placement
- have chosen the country where you will work and checked its nursing regulator’s rules
Think twice if you…
- find blood, injections or caring for very ill people hard to cope with
- want a desk job with regular hours
- expect the diploma to work as a licence abroad automatically: recognition, language and exams depend on the country
- want to start in intensive care or pediatrics straight after graduation: those roles usually need experience or extra certification
Student life
What happens outside lectures depends on the university, so ask the department what it actually runs: skills-lab practice, nursing students' associations and health-education outreach.
Clinical practice in hospitals is a compulsory part of nursing training: ask which hospitals you will train in and in which language you will speak to patients. For a semester abroad, ask which Erasmus+ partner universities the department has and whether international degree students can apply; a visa for the host country is a separate step.
Pay and demand in Turkey and beyond
The Turkish market. Pay depends on professional authorisation, employer, shift pattern, experience and responsibilities. Turkey’s regulation for foreign health professionals in private health institutions requires recognised and registered qualifications, Turkish proficiency, and work and residence permits. The employer submits the application; work may start only after the personnel work document is approved. This is a separate process from university admission.
Additional guide to programme language
For nursing, the catalog shows different language options: Bahcesehir lists bachelor's tracks in English and Turkish, while Topkapi lists a Turkish-taught bachelor's track. This helps with the first language-based shortlist.
Examples to check with StudyU: Bahcesehir University: Nursing (Bachelor, English); Bahcesehir University: Nursing (Bachelor, Turkish); Topkapi University: Nursing (Bachelor, Turkish).
Universities offering Nursing
Compare the listed degree, teaching language and fee basis. Confirm the academic year and payment period before paying.
| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Biruni University | Bachelor | English | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,000 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Uskudar University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,200/year · 2026–2027 |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $4,500 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,500/year · 2026–2027 |
| Gedik University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4,700/year · academic year not stated on the official list |
| Biruni University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5,000/year · 2026–2027 |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5,200 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Halic University | Bachelor | English | $4,700/year · academic year not stated on the official list |
| Istanbul Galata University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | English | $5,900 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $6,000 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $7,500 · 2025–2026; confirm the payment period; archived quote, obtain a current offer |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | English | $8,000 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,000 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Antalya Bilim University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8,500/year · 2026–2027 |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,500/year · 2026–2027 |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4,000 for the whole programme · 2025–2026; archived quote, obtain a current offer |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8,750 · 2026–2027; confirm the payment period |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3,500 for the whole programme · 2025–2026; archived quote, obtain a current offer |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Okan University | Master | Turkish | $3,500 non-thesis / $4,500 thesis for the whole programme · 2026–2027 |
| Biruni University | Master | Turkish | Before payment, obtain a written quote for this degree and language, including academic year, fee period and included costs |
| Uskudar University | Master | Turkish | $4,400 non-thesis / $4,800 thesis for the whole programme · 2026–2027 |
| Halic University | Master | Turkish | $2,700 for the whole programme · academic year not stated on the official list · thesis or non-thesis |
| Okan University | PhD | Turkish | $7,000 for the whole programme · 2026–2027 |
| Uskudar University | PhD | Turkish | $9,000 for the whole programme · 2026–2027 |
| Halic University | PhD | Turkish | $6,300 for the whole programme · academic year not stated on the official list |
| Bahcesehir University | PhD | Turkish | $40,000 for the whole programme · 2026–2027 |
Ready to study nursing in Turkey?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Get a consultationWhat applicants ask most
To apply for a Nursing degree, first check the selected university’s academic requirements, documents and language assessment. A language certificate is one possible route; a university test or preparation may also apply. Confirm the registration deadline for school-diploma equivalence (denklik). Graduating and being authorised to practise are separate steps: check the professional rules in your intended country before choosing a programme.
The table includes English- and Turkish-taught options. Each university sets the accepted tests, exemptions and preparatory route. For example, Okan offers its own Turkish proficiency test to applicants without an accepted TÖMER certificate. Check the exact track before booking an external test.
Compare current vacancies or published pay scales for the exact role, seniority and location you are considering. Check the required language, work authorisation and professional registration alongside compensation. A degree alone does not establish a salary or job offer. Personalised salary research is provided under an agreement with StudyU.