Universities

University of Cyprus (UCY): Admission, Language and Fees

📍 Cyprus

The University of Cyprus (UCY) is the leading public university of the Republic of Cyprus and the country's highest-ranked institution: 401–500 in THE 2026 and 525th in QS 2027, first among Cypriot universities. International applicants face two very different routes. Bachelor's programmes are taught almost entirely in Greek: non-EU applicants apply in April, prove good knowledge of Greek and pay $7,760 (€6,834) a year. Postgraduate study is more accessible: most master's programmes cost $5,820 (€5,125) in total, and some are taught in English.

Four-storey pale teaching building with a barrier gate and paved forecourt at the entrance
A teaching building on the University of Cyprus campus in Nicosia. Photo: sk12 / source, CC BY 2.0.
At a glance Details for 2026/27 entry
Status Public university of the Republic of Cyprus
Location Nicosia
Rankings THE 2026: 401–500; QS 2027: 525th
Students 6,983, of whom 14% international (THE 2026 data)
Bachelor's teaching language Greek; English, French and Turkish only in the corresponding language departments
Bachelor's fee for non-EU citizens $7,760 (€6,834) a year
Master's $5,820 (€5,125) for the whole programme in most cases; MBA $11,640 (€10,250)
Doctorate $4,540 (€4,000) with a master's degree, $7,380 (€6,500) without
Bachelor's applications In April for the following academic year
Master's applications By 31 March for autumn, by 31 October for spring

Who UCY suits

UCY is a strong choice for a master's or doctorate: fees are lower than at private universities and its research profile is stronger. For a bachelor's degree it is realistic if you already speak Greek or are willing to spend a year on the language. If you have no Greek and want to study in English from the first year, private universities fit better: the University of Nicosia, European University Cyprus or UCLan Cyprus. The other two public institutions, the Cyprus University of Technology in Limassol and the Open University of Cyprus, are covered alongside private ones in universities in Cyprus.

Bachelor's study: language, requirements and fees

Undergraduate teaching at UCY is in Greek. The exceptions are the Department of English Studies, the Department of French and European Studies and the Department of Turkish Studies, which teach in those languages.

Applicants from outside the EU apply under a separate category and need:

  • a secondary school certificate recognised by the education authority of the issuing country;
  • a certificate of good knowledge of Greek;
  • proof of citizenship and a passport copy;
  • grades that meet the requirements set by the chosen department.

Applications are accepted in April for the following academic year; the Academic Affairs and Student Welfare Service publishes the exact dates for each cycle. The fee for non-EU students is $7,760 (€6,834) a year, or about $31,040 (€27,336) over four years before living costs.

UCY's School of Modern Greek runs intensive and non-intensive courses for students who need to reach a level suitable for study. The public page does not state the required certificate level, so confirm it with the International Students and Staff Support Office before you start preparing.

Medicine. The UCY Medical School runs a six-year programme taught and assessed in Greek, with English used where needed. UCY has no English-taught medicine for international students; private universities offer it, as explained in medicine in Cyprus.

Master's and doctoral study

Postgraduate study offers more choice, and some programmes are taught in English, for example the full-time MBA. Each programme description states its language, so check before applying.

Programme Fee for 2026/27 entry
Standard master's programme $5,820 (€5,125) for the whole programme over three semesters
MBA $11,640 (€10,250)
Financial Analysis (MSc) $17,030 (€15,000)
Natural Gas in Energy Transition (M.Eng.) $9,080 (€8,000)
Human Resource Management (MSc) $8,520 (€7,500), paid per course
Intelligent Critical Infrastructure Systems (MSc) $7,380 (€6,500)
Doctorate $4,540 (€4,000) for master's graduates; applicants without a master's pay $7,380 (€6,500)

Payment schedule for a standard master's. After accepting a place you pay a non-refundable $570 (€500) deposit, then instalments before registration and before the exam period each semester of $790 (€700), with $1,280 (€1,125) before the final exams.

Earning at the university. UCY may pay master's students who work as assistants up to $780 (€683) a month for a maximum of ten months.

How to apply. Send your application to the department's postgraduate coordinator by 31 March for the autumn semester or by 31 October for spring. You will need:

  • the online application form;
  • two signed recommendation letters (three in some departments);
  • copies of degrees and transcripts;
  • a CV;
  • a statement of up to two pages on your research goals and interests;
  • a research proposal if the doctoral programme requires one.

More on postgraduate study across the island is in master's in Cyprus.

Entry permit for non-EU students

Every student from outside the EU needs an entry permit for the Republic of Cyprus. UCY submits the application to the Migration Department once it has received all documents and payments. What UCY asks you to prepare:

Document Condition
Passport Valid for the whole period of study and at least two years
Proof of funds for tuition and living costs $7,950 (€7,000); $5,680 (€5,000) with a scholarship of 50% or more; not required with a full scholarship
Criminal record certificate Original, certified according to the rules of the issuing country
Medical certificates Blood tests and chest X-ray, certified
Academic documents Together with an English language certificate
Acceptance letter Issued by UCY
Letter covering repatriation expenses Prepared by the student or sponsor

The government fee for the entry permit, residence permit and Alien Registration Certificate is $160 (€140), or $79 (€70) if you already hold such a certificate. Applicants from countries outside the Hague Convention also pay for document verification at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Within seven days of arrival you must file your application for a temporary residence permit, and the card takes 3–4 months to arrive. During studies you may work up to 20 hours a week in term and up to 38 in breaks, but only after the district labour office signs off on the employment contract. Nationality-specific routes and work rules are covered in the Cyprus student visa guide.

Budgeting for the first year

Do not count on a UCY hall place: only 8 rooms are set aside for exchange and international students, at $280 (€250) a month plus a refundable $230 (€200) deposit, and applications for 2026/27 ran from 1 to 15 June. Most international students rent privately in Nicosia. The floor for your budget is the amount UCY asks you to prove for the entry permit: $7,950 (€7,000) for study and living. For a student on a standard master's programme, the first year looks like this:

  • tuition for the first two semesters: $3,750 (€3,300), with another $2,070 (€1,825) in the third semester;
  • housing, food and transport in Nicosia, depending on your lifestyle; for reference, the nearby University of Nicosia estimates shared accommodation at $4,540–6,810 (€4,000–6,000) a year;
  • insurance, the $160 (€140) entry fee and the residence permit.

For transfers from Russia, use our guide to paying from Russia; for a side-by-side view of fees, see what studying in Cyprus costs.

UCY or a private university

Criterion UCY Private universities (UNIC, EUC, UCLan Cyprus)
Bachelor's language Greek English
Bachelor's fee, non-EU $7,760 (€6,834) a year $11,720–13,420 (€10,320–11,820) a year at UNIC
Master's From $5,820 (€5,125) per programme $16,450–17,880 (€14,490–15,750) for most UNIC programmes
Rankings Highest in the country in QS 2027 Lower overall, with strong individual fields
English-taught medicine No Yes
Entry without Greek After language preparation Directly, with the required English level

Planning your application

Master's, starting in September:

  1. Autumn of the previous year: choose the programme and check its language and department requirements.
  2. December–February: collect references, your degree and transcript and a CV, write the statement and take IELTS or TOEFL.
  3. By 31 March: apply to the department coordinator.
  4. Spring: interview if the department holds one, the admission decision and the $570 (€500) deposit.
  5. Summer: entry permit documents through UCY, funds in the account and medical certificates.
  6. September: arrival and the temporary residence permit application within seven days.

Bachelor's: start Greek a year to eighteen months before applying so that you hold the certificate by April, then follow the same entry permit steps. General steps for Cyprus are in applying to Cypriot universities.

Common mistakes

  • Expecting an English-taught bachelor's. Apart from the language departments, teaching is in Greek.
  • Relying on old claims that everyone pays the same. Non-EU bachelor's students pay a separate rate of $7,760 (€6,834) a year.
  • Missing the April window. Non-EU bachelor's applications are accepted once a year.
  • Using private-university deadlines. At UCY the master's deadline for autumn is 31 March, and applications go to the department.
  • Not preparing funds. Without proof of the $7,950 (€7,000) UCY requires, the university will not file your entry permit application.

FAQ

Can I study at the University of Cyprus in English?

At bachelor's level only in the Department of English Studies (French and European Studies and Turkish Studies teach in French and Turkish); other programmes are in Greek. At master's level some programmes are taught in English, such as the full-time MBA, so check each programme description.

How much is a UCY bachelor's degree for international students?

Non-EU citizens pay $7,760 (€6,834) a year. On top come living costs, insurance and the entry permit, and for the entry permit UCY asks you to prove at least $7,950 (€7,000).

Do I need Greek to apply?

For a bachelor's degree, yes: you need a certificate of good knowledge of Greek. UCY does not state the level on its public page, so confirm it with the international support office; the university's School of Modern Greek offers preparation courses.

How much is a master's at UCY?

Most programmes cost $5,820 (€5,125) in total over three semesters. Some cost more: the MBA $11,640 (€10,250) and Financial Analysis $17,030 (€15,000).

When is the master's deadline?

By 31 March to start in the autumn semester and by 31 October for spring. Applications go to the department's postgraduate coordinator with references, your degree, a CV and a statement.

Does UCY teach medicine in English?

No. The UCY Medical School runs a six-year programme in Greek. English-taught medicine in Cyprus is offered by private universities such as the University of Nicosia and European University Cyprus.

How can StudyU help with a UCY application?

Shortlisting UCY master's programmes, confirming the teaching language, and preparing references, the personal statement and the entry permit documents are provided under an agreement with StudyU. The UCY department makes the admission decision; the Republic of Cyprus Migration Department rules on the entry permit.

Sources

UCY publishes its fees without naming an academic year; the figures are those in force on 29.09.2026, i.e. for 2026/27 entry. ECB rate of 29.09.2026: €1 = $1.1355. Rounding step: $1 below $100, otherwise $10.

If you want to know whether a UCY master's or an English-taught private university is the more realistic option for you, send us a request.

During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.

Next steps

Updated: