What this degree covers
Compare mathematical foundations and algorithms with software projects, databases and systems work. Look at the depth of programming assignments and the electives available for the area you want to pursue.
Use the curriculum and university options below to build a shortlist. Confirm the exact degree level, teaching language, course sequence and practical requirements with each university; similar programme names do not make the courses interchangeable.
Want to know what discount you qualify for?
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Study to Become a Software Developer in Turkey
Turkish universities teach computer science and computer engineering in English and Turkish. You need a high-school diploma and a language certificate; SAT can help. The degree usually takes 4 years. StudyU helps you choose a university, prepare documents and check scholarship terms confirmed by the university or funding body.
How the course is built
The degree takes four years. The list below shows a typical sequence from foundation courses to electives and a graduation project; course titles, order and credits differ by university, so compare it with the published curriculum of each programme you shortlist.
- Calculus
- Discrete mathematics
- Linear algebra
- Programming and logic
- Data structures and algorithms
- Computer organisation
- Operating systems
- Databases and computer networks
- Software engineering
- Electives in security, distributed systems, AI, graphics or theory of computation
- Summer internship (staj)
- Team capstone project or supervised research
Graduate career paths
Typical first roles are listed below. Software jobs need no licence; employers look at your projects, internships and technical interviews. If you plan to work or study further abroad, check how that country recognises the specific degree.
Backend and frontend developers build web services, APIs and interfaces in product teams.
Data engineers and analysts build data pipelines and turn the data into reports.
Security analysts monitor systems, test for vulnerabilities and respond to incidents.
Infrastructure and DevOps engineers run servers, cloud platforms and deployment pipelines.
QA and test engineers write automated tests and check releases before they ship.
Machine-learning engineers build and evaluate models; research roles usually require a master's.
Is this your path?
Choose it if you…
- like breaking a hard problem into parts and are patient with debugging.
- are ready for discrete mathematics, linear algebra and probability alongside programming.
- have written a few small programs, or will start with Python before the first term.
- want a broad base for moving later into software, data, security or AI.
Slow down if you…
- mainly want to design electronic devices (compare computer engineering).
- are most interested in how teams build and maintain large products (compare software engineering).
- only want to learn one tool quickly; a short course may be enough.
Campus and community
What happens outside lectures depends on the university, so ask the department what it actually runs: hackathons and programming contests, research projects with faculty members and student clubs for software, cybersecurity or game development.
Turkish engineering curricula usually include compulsory summer internships (staj): ask how many working days are required, whether the university helps find a placement and whether a placement in your home country counts. For a semester abroad, ask which Erasmus+ partner universities the department has and whether international degree students can apply; a visa for the host country is a separate step.
Job market and salary benchmarks
What raises income: pet projects and a GitHub portfolio, cloud certifications, working-level English. A personalised comparison of current salary ranges by city and employer is provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Additional guide to programme language
Examples to check with StudyU: Bahcesehir University: Computer Engineering (Bachelor, Master, English); Topkapi University: Computer Engineering (Bachelor, English, Turkish).
Universities to compare for computing degrees
The Degree column shows study level, not the official programme title. These universities may offer Computer Science or a related degree such as Computer Engineering; confirm the exact award name and curriculum with the university before applying.
| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gedik University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · 2025–26 official fee (previous year) |
| Isik University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee guidance |
| Biruni University | Bachelor | English | $5 000 (2026–27, listed as instalments) · official fee |
| Biruni University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 000 (2026–27, listed as instalments) · official fee |
| Ankara Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $5 000 listed tuition (2026–27); billing period to confirm in the offer |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Halic University | Bachelor | English | $4 700/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 550/yr |
| Uskudar University | Bachelor | English | $5 600/yr (2026–27 Computer Engineering) · official fee |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · previous year: 2025–26 official schedule |
| Mudanya University | Bachelor | English | $6 500/yr from 1 December 2026; $5 200/yr for early registration by 30 November 2026, payable in full at final registration (2026–27, VAT included) |
| Mudanya University | Bachelor | Turkish | $6 000/yr |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · official admissions portal |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | English | $6 300/yr |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $6 500/yr |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · official admissions portal |
| Alanya University | Bachelor | English | $7 250/yr |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 250/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official listing |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | English | $8 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | Turkish | $8 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8 000/yr |
| Antalya Bilim University | Bachelor | English | $8 300/yr |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $9 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · previous year: 2025–26 official schedule |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · previous year: 2025–26 official schedule |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee listings differ: programme list / faculty list |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12 000/yr |
| TOBB University of Economics and Technology | Bachelor | Turkish | $16 500/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20 000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | English | $25 000/yr |
| Sabanci University | Bachelor | English | $36 500/yr (2026–27 undergraduate) · official fee |
| Biruni University | Master | Turkish | 2026–27 listing: thesis $6 000 / non-thesis $4 000 (paid in instalments) · official fee |
| Okan University | Master | Turkish | $3 500 / whole program (non-thesis; 2026–27) · official fee |
| Biruni University | Master | English | 2026–27 listing: thesis $6 000 / non-thesis $4 000 (paid in instalments) · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Master | Turkish | $4 400 / whole program (non-thesis; 2026–27) · official fee |
| Uskudar University | Master | English | $5 100 / whole program (non-thesis; 2026–27) · official fee |
| Halic University | Master | Turkish | $2 700 / whole program (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Yasar University | Master | English | $7 200 / whole program (academic year not stated) · official fee |
| Atlas University | Master | English | $7 415 (2026–27 listed tuition; billing period not stated) · official fee PDF |
| Atlas University | Master | Turkish | $7 415 (2026–27 listed tuition; billing period not stated) · official fee PDF |
| Istinye University | Master | English | $8 000 / whole program (non-thesis; 2026–27) · official fee |
| Gelisim University | Master | Turkish | 2026–27 fee on request · 2025–26 fee schedule (previous year) |
| Isik University | Master | English | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee guidance |
| Bahcesehir University | Master | English | $12 000 / whole program (non-thesis; 2026–27) · official fee |
| Kadir Has University | Master | English | 2026–27 thesis Master’s: $20 000/yr · official fee |
| Okan University | PhD | Turkish | $7 000 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Yasar University | PhD | English | $16 000 / whole program (academic year not stated) · official fee |
| Atlas University | PhD | English | $16 500 (2026–27 listed tuition; billing period not stated) · official fee PDF |
| Kadir Has University | PhD | English | $20 000/yr (2026–27 doctoral fee) · official fee |
| Isik University | PhD | English | 2026–27 fee on request · official fee guidance |
| Bahcesehir University | PhD | English | $40 000 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
Ready to study computer science in Turkey?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Get a consultationWhat applicants ask most
To become a software developer in Turkey you need a high-school diploma, a language certificate and denklik (recognition of your previous education). Some universities ask for the YÖS or SAT exam. Under an agreement with StudyU, a consultant can compare universities within budget, help prepare documents and check published scholarship terms. Each university decides admission and confirms individual scholarship terms; funding bodies decide their awards.
Many Turkish universities offer programs in English. Programs in Turkish require a TÖMER certificate. Exact requirements depend on the university.
Compare current vacancies or published pay scales for the exact role, seniority and location you are considering. Check the required language, work authorisation and professional registration alongside compensation. A degree alone does not establish a salary or job offer. Personalised salary research is provided under an agreement with StudyU.