
Business Administration in Turkey
How to choose among 48 private universities that teach Business Administration in English: accreditation, curriculum, English-test rules and verified fees for 2026–27.
The short answer
Business Administration (İşletme) is the most widely available business degree in Turkey: the 2026 YÖK Atlas catalogue lists it at 59 private and 102 state universities, and 48 of the private ones teach it in English. It is a four-year bachelor's covering accounting, economics, statistics, marketing, finance, operations, human resources and strategy, plus a preparatory year if you lack an accepted language certificate. Published 2026–27 tuition at private universities starts at $4 500 a year (Okan, Turkish-taught) and $5 000 in English, sits at $8 000–$8 500 at İstinye and Bahçeşehir, and reaches $25 000 at Özyeğin before scholarships.
With so many options, the title tells you little. What separates programmes is accreditation, how much of the plan is fixed, the language of teaching, internships and the real price after scholarships. The sections below go through each.
Accreditation: the quickest filter
YÖK Atlas records the programme accreditation of each İşletme degree. For the English-taught versions at private universities in 2026 it shows:
| Accreditation | What it is | English-taught İşletme programmes holding it |
|---|---|---|
| AACSB | US-based international accreditation for business schools | Bilkent, Koç, Özyeğin |
| FIBAA | German-based European agency for business programmes | Altınbaş, Istanbul Medipol, Yeditepe, İbn Haldun |
| AQAS, ACQUIN | German-based European programme accreditation agencies | Başkent and Gelişim (AQAS); Topkapı (ACQUIN); Beykent (ACQUIN and STAR) |
| STAR | Turkish accreditation association for social and administrative sciences programmes | Atılım, Bahçeşehir, Beykoz, Haliç, Esenyurt, Nişantaşı, Sabahattin Zaim, İstinye |
Programmes without a listed accreditation are not lower-quality by definition, but accreditation is an outside check you can compare. Note one special case: Sabancı's degree is not İşletme but Management (Yönetim Bilimleri Programları), also AACSB-accredited and with fewer required courses; it appears in the fee table below for comparison. Yeditepe also runs an international joint-degree (UOLP) version of Business Administration with the University of North Carolina Wilmington.
What you study
A fixed-plan example: Istanbul Bilgi
Bilgi publishes the required courses of its English-taught Business Administration degree in its ECTS catalogue. The final year adds seven business electives.
| Year | Required courses |
|---|---|
| 1 | Experiencing Business in Society I–II; Introduction to Economics I–II; Calculus I–II; English for Academic Purposes; Office Software and AI Productivity Tools for Businesses |
| 2 | Introduction to Accounting; Perspectives on Management; Statistical Analysis for Business; Financial Reporting and Analysis; Introduction to Organizational Behavior; Further Statistics for Business |
| 3 | Human Resource Management; Principles of Marketing; Production and Operations Management; Business Finance; AI for Business Analytics; Managerial Economics; Organization and Organizing; Marketing Management; Managerial Accounting |
| 4 | Strategic Management; Turkish Business Environment; Consumer Behavior |
A specialisation example: Özyeğin
Özyeğin's AACSB-accredited Business Administration degree requires 44 courses, 240 ECTS and at least one 8-week internship. Years one and two are mostly foundation and required courses; from year two, "Sectoral Solutions" courses introduce industries such as financial services, healthcare and consumer goods, with guest speakers, company visits and real business projects in the final year. After 90 ECTS, students may declare a specialisation in Marketing, Finance, Operations, Management or Management Information Systems by taking four area electives; otherwise the transcript shows General Business.
Two other paths share the faculty but lead to different diplomas: Management and sector management degrees such as logistics or health management, and Management Information Systems.
Business Administration: universities and fees
The table separates annual fees and whole-program fees. Bachelor's and associate prices are per year; most PhD prices cover the whole programme. Where a university has not yet published 2026–27 international fees, the row shows its latest official list with that list's year, and undated university lists are marked as such.
| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 500/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 765/yr (2026–27 university profile) |
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 700/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Halic University | Bachelor | English | $4 700/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $5 500/yr; $4 950 if paid in advance (2026–27) · official fee |
| Atlas University | Bachelor | English | $5 510/yr (2026–27 university profile) |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | English | $6 000/yr (2025–26 list, the latest Altınbaş publishes for new students) · official fee list |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | English | $4 400/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official listing |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 250/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official listing |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 500/yr (2025–26 list, the latest Gelişim publishes) · official fee list |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | English | $8 000/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Antalya Bilim University | Bachelor | English | $8 300/yr (2026 fee list) · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8 500/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4 250/yr (2025–26 list, the latest Gelişim publishes) · official fee list |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $11 800/yr, VAT included (academic year not stated on the university lists) · programme list / scholarship list |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12 000/year, VAT included; academic year not stated · official fee |
| Bilkent University | Bachelor | English | $18 400/yr including VAT for students admitted in 2026 (2026–27) |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20 000/yr (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | English | $25 000/yr standard rate before scholarships (2026–27) · official fee |
| Sabanci University | Bachelor | English | $36 500/yr (2026–27 undergraduate) · official fee |
| Okan University | PhD | Turkish | $7 000 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Gelisim University | PhD | Turkish | $6 000 / whole program (2025–26 list, the latest Gelişim publishes) · official fee list |
| Antalya Bilim University | PhD | Turkish | $9 000 / whole program (2026) · official fee |
| Okan University | PhD | English | $9 000 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Gedik University | PhD | Turkish | $7 500 (2025–26 list; billing period not stated) · official fee list |
| Halic University | PhD | Turkish | $6 300 / whole program (academic year not stated on the university list) · official fee |
| Istinye University | PhD | English | $12 500 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Istinye University | PhD | Turkish | $12 500 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Yasar University | PhD | English | $16 000 / whole program (academic year not stated) · official fee |
| Yasar University | PhD | Turkish | $16 000 / whole program (academic year not stated) · official fee |
| Altinbas University | PhD | English | $19 800 / whole program, payable in the first year (2025–26 list) · official fee list / payment rules |
| Kadir Has University | PhD | English | $20 000/yr (2026–27 doctoral fee) · official fee |
| Bahcesehir University | PhD | English | $40 000 / whole program (2026–27) · official fee |
| Okan University | Associate | Turkish | $2 025/yr (2026–27) · official fee |
| Medipol University | Associate | Turkish | $3 250/yr; $2 925 if paid in advance (2026–27) · official fee |
Sabancı's row refers to its Management programme; its 2026–27 international undergraduate tariff is $36 500 a year before scholarships. Okan, Medipol and Atlas also publish lower prices for advance payment or their own scholarships; the table shows list prices except where noted.
How international students apply
Private universities admit international students on school results through their own online systems. A typical file is a passport, the school-leaving certificate and transcript (translated into English or Turkish), a language certificate if you have one and, at some universities, a motivation letter. After the offer letter and deposit you apply for a student visa at a Turkish consulate; at registration you will need the school-diploma equivalence certificate (denklik) from Turkey's Ministry of National Education, and a residence permit after arrival. Okan lets you apply to up to three programmes in order of preference.
Minimum grades differ by university. Özyeğin, for instance, asks for an IB diploma of 26 out of 45, at least two A levels at grade D, a French Baccalauréat of 11 out of 20, an Attestat of 3.5 out of 5, an ACT score of 23 or a general diploma of 70%; applicants below those marks can apply with an SAT of at least 600 in maths and 1000 in total.
English tests and the preparatory year
Without an accepted certificate, you may take the university’s proficiency test. If you do not qualify for exemption, budget for language preparation before the four-year degree. University lists differ, and IELTS is the test that most often causes trouble:
- Özyeğin: TOEFL iBT 80, PTE Academic 62, Cambridge First at grade B or Cambridge Advanced at grade C; no IELTS on its list. Others take its TRACE exam.
- Okan: states that it does not accept IELTS and tests those applicants itself.
- Haliç: accepts IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 75 or PTE Academic 58, or its own exam after registration.
- Turkish-taught programmes: Okan accepts a TÖMER certificate at B2 from the last two years; without it you take Okan's Turkish exam and may need at least a semester of Turkish.
The preparatory year has its own price. For 2026–27, İstinye charges $8 000 for English preparation and $3 000 for Turkish; Medipol charges the same as the programme's annual fee for English preparation and $1 390 for Turkish.
The university decides admission and any scholarship; a Turkish consulate decides the student visa.
Careers and working while you study
Business graduates usually start in one function: analyst roles in finance or sales, marketing and brand assistant, procurement, HR, operations or consulting. Özyeğin builds company projects into the final year, which gives you concrete work to discuss in interviews. A master's or MBA tends to come after a few years of work.
Under the rules of Turkey's Presidency of Migration Management, bachelor’s students may apply to work part-time after completing their first year, with a work permit. Internships with Turkish employers usually require working Turkish, so take Turkish courses from the first semester even on an English-taught degree.
Graduate fees: read the unit
Graduate fees are quoted in different ways. Okan's Business Administration PhD costs $7 000 in Turkish and $9 000 in English for the whole programme, İstinye's $12 500 and Bahçeşehir's $40 000 likewise for the whole programme, while Kadir Has charges $20 000 for each year (all 2026–27). Compare total cost over the expected length, not the headline number.
A good fit if you
- want a broad business base before choosing marketing, finance, operations or HR
- are comfortable with calculus, statistics and accounting in the first two years
- plan a master's or MBA later, in Turkey or abroad
Compare alternatives first if you
- already know your sector, such as hotels, logistics, aviation or healthcare: a sector degree is more direct
- are mainly interested in markets and investment: see International Finance
- prefer economic theory to management practice: see Economics
Common mistakes
- Choosing on price alone. Accreditation, internships and the scholarship you actually receive change the value more than a $1 000 difference in list price.
- Booking IELTS by default. Özyeğin and Okan do not accept it for exemption; Haliç does.
- Comparing a whole-programme PhD fee with an annual fee. Check the unit in the table.
- Ignoring the preparatory year. At İstinye it costs as much as a year of the degree.
- Assuming Sabancı's Management equals İşletme elsewhere. The title and the share of electives are different.
Checklist before paying a deposit
- The exact title (İşletme or another degree), language and accreditation in YÖK Atlas.
- Which certificates exempt you from the preparatory year, and its price.
- Whether the fee is annual or for the whole programme, includes VAT and has an advance-payment price.
- The scholarship in your offer letter and the grade needed to keep it.
- Required internships and the specialisations you can declare.
Business Administration in Turkey: questions applicants ask
Answers are based on YÖK Atlas 2026, the curricula of Bilgi and Özyeğin and the fee lists in the table.
YÖK Atlas lists İşletme at 59 private and 102 state universities for 2026. Forty-eight of the private universities teach it in English, including Bilkent, Koç, Özyeğin, Bahçeşehir, Istanbul Bilgi, İstinye, Okan and Medipol.
Most private universities teach it in English, and many also offer a Turkish version; YÖK Atlas lists English-taught İşletme at 48 private universities for 2026. Proficiency rules vary by university: Bahçeşehir University, for example, accepts its own English proficiency exam and approved external tests, so TOEFL is not the only route. Turkish-taught versions require a Turkish certificate such as TÖMER or a preparatory year.
For the quoted 2026–27 examples, annual tuition starts at $4 500 at Okan (Turkish-taught) and $5 000 (English-taught), then $5 000 at Yeni Yüzyıl, $5 500 at Medipol, $8 000 at İstinye, $8 500 at Bahçeşehir, $12 000 at Bilgi including VAT on an undated list, $18 400 at Bilkent for students admitted in 2026 and $25 000 at Özyeğin before scholarships.
In YÖK Atlas for 2026, the English-taught İşletme programmes at Bilkent, Koç and Özyeğin carry AACSB accreditation. FIBAA appears for Altınbaş, Istanbul Medipol, Yeditepe and İbn Haldun, and STAR for programmes such as Bahçeşehir, Haliç and İstinye.
Not everywhere. Özyeğin's exemption list includes TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic and Cambridge exams but not IELTS, and Okan states that it does not accept IELTS. Haliç accepts IELTS 6.5. Choose the university before booking the test.
Often, yes. At Özyeğin, students who have completed 90 ECTS can declare a specialisation in Marketing, Finance, Operations, Management or Management Information Systems by taking four area electives; otherwise the transcript shows General Business.
Check the unit. For 2026–27, Okan's PhD costs $7 000 (Turkish) or $9 000 (English) for the whole programme, İstinye's $12 500 and Bahçeşehir's $40 000 for the whole programme, while Kadir Has charges $20 000 a year.
Under the Ministry of Labour’s rules, undergraduate students may apply to work part-time after completing their first year, with a work permit. Internships with Turkish companies usually require working Turkish.
Too many Business Administration programmes to compare?
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU; the university decides admission and a Turkish consulate decides the visa. During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Related universities
Related programmes
Business degrees with a narrower focus.
How to apply for Business Administration in Turkey
The university assesses the specific school qualification, subjects, grades and teaching-language requirements for this programme. With an 11-year certificate, confirm eligibility and any exams, portfolio or other selection steps for the chosen intake. Check which language certificates or university assessments are accepted; denklik and registration requirements are separate from admission. Under an agreement with StudyU, we help prepare the agreed application and equivalence documents; the university decides admission and the competent authority decides equivalence. Start 6–9 months ahead to allow time for the university’s published procedure and document checks.