What this degree covers
Compare design-studio work with architectural drawing, structural systems and environmental design. Review how projects are assessed and check the recognition requirements in the country where you intend to practise.
Use the curriculum and university options below to build a shortlist. Confirm the exact degree level, teaching language, course sequence and practical requirements with each university; similar programme names do not make the courses interchangeable.
Interested in the discount available to you?
A personal strategy, requirement checks, selection of agreed options, document preparation, applications, and support are provided under an agreement with StudyU.
Study to Become an Architect in Turkey
Turkish universities teach architecture in English and Turkish. Whether the diploma lets you practise depends on the registration rules of the country where you plan to work, so check them before you choose. To study architecture in Turkey you need a high-school diploma, a language certificate and denklik; some universities review a portfolio or the YÖS exam. Architecture usually takes 4 years. StudyU helps you pick a university, prepare documents and check scholarship terms confirmed by the university or funding body.
Study plan
The degree takes four years. The list below shows a typical sequence from foundation courses to electives and a graduation project; course titles, order and credits differ by university, so compare it with the published curriculum of each programme you shortlist.
- Basic design and composition
- Freehand and technical drawing
- Descriptive geometry
- History of art and architecture
- Model making
- Architectural design studio: housing and public buildings
- Building materials and construction
- Structural systems
- Digital drawing and 3D modelling
- Sustainable design and urban analysis
- Integrated design studio
- Internship (staj) in an office or on a construction site
- Professional electives
- Graduation project with drawings, a model and a public jury
Career directions to investigate
Roles graduates commonly move into are listed below. Practising as a licensed architect requires registration in the country where you work, and each country sets its own recognition and experience rules.
Architects in design offices take a project from concept and permit drawings to construction details.
BIM coordinators build the shared building model and resolve clashes between architectural, structural and services drawings.
Visualisation artists produce renders, animations and presentation boards for offices, developers and competitions.
Developers hire architects as design or project managers to follow a building from brief to handover.
Urban design and research teams in offices, municipalities and universities work on masterplans, public space and housing studies.
Interior and exhibition design is an adjacent field where the same studio skills are used on smaller spaces.
How to tell it fits you
It suits you if you…
- like drawing and model-making and are also ready for mathematics, structures and building codes.
- can take critique at studio juries and rework the same project many times.
- can handle studio deadlines that run into the evening, plus the cost of printing, models and software.
- are curious about cities, materials and how people use buildings.
Reconsider if you…
- want quick results without repeated revisions.
- have little interest in materials, structures and technical constraints.
- mainly want to design interiors (compare Interior Architecture).
- plan to practise in a particular country but have not checked how it recognises a Turkish degree.
Campus and community
What happens outside lectures depends on the university, so ask the department what it actually runs: studio juries and exhibitions, site visits, national student design competitions and workshops with practising architects.
Turkish architecture and design curricula usually include compulsory internships (staj) in an office or on a construction site: ask how many working days are required, whether the university helps find a placement and whether a placement in your home country counts. For a semester abroad, ask which Erasmus+ partner universities the department has and whether international degree students can apply; a visa for the host country is a separate step.
Additional guide to programme language
Alongside StudyU's university table, these reviewed catalog examples help compare language fit: Bahcesehir lists Architecture in English at bachelor's and master's level, while Topkapi lists a Turkish-taught bachelor's track.
Examples to check with StudyU: Bahcesehir University: Architecture (Bachelor, Master, English); Topkapi University: Architecture (Bachelor, Turkish).
Universities offering Architecture
Compare degree, teaching language and the fee period shown in each row. Graduate fees may cover the whole programme.
| University | Degree | Language | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Isik University | Bachelor | English | $3 600/yr · 2024–2025 archive |
| Topkapi University | Bachelor | Turkish | $3 900/yr |
| Yeni Yuzyil University | Bachelor | Turkish | $5 000 listed tuition (2026–27); billing period to confirm in the offer |
| Okan University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 500/yr |
| Gedik University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 600/yr |
| Halic University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 700/yr (academic year not stated on the official list) |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | English | $5 000 listed tuition (2026–27); billing period to confirm in the offer |
| Okan University | Bachelor | English | $5 000/yr |
| Altinbas University | Bachelor | English | $6 000/yr |
| Medipol University | Bachelor | Turkish | $6 500 listed tuition (2026–27); billing period to confirm in the offer |
| Alanya University | Bachelor | English | $7 000/yr |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | English | $7 481/yr |
| Nisantasi University | Bachelor | Turkish | $7 481/yr |
| Istinye University | Bachelor | English | $8 000/yr |
| Yasar University | Bachelor | English | $8 000/yr |
| Antalya Bilim University | Bachelor | English | $8 300/yr |
| Bahcesehir University | Bachelor | English | $8 500/yr |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | Turkish | $4 000 listed whole-programme tuition (2025–26 archive); obtain a quote for your intake |
| Gelisim University | Bachelor | English | $4 500 listed whole-programme tuition (2025–26 archive); obtain a quote for your intake |
| TED University | Bachelor | English | $11 800/yr |
| TOBB University of Economics and Technology | Bachelor | Turkish | $11 800/yr |
| Bilgi University | Bachelor | English | $12 000/yr |
| Kadir Has University | Bachelor | English | $20 000/yr |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | English | $25 000/yr |
| Ozyegin University | Bachelor | Turkish | $25 000/yr |
| Okan University | Master | Turkish | $3 500 / whole programme, non-thesis; $4 500 / whole programme, thesis (2026–27) |
| Gedik University | Master | Turkish | $5 000/yr |
| Okan University | Master | English | $6 000 / whole programme, thesis (2026–27) |
| Antalya Bilim University | Master | Turkish | $5 400/yr |
| Topkapi University | Master | Turkish | $5 500/yr |
| Halic University | Master | Turkish | $2 700 / whole programme, thesis or non-thesis (academic year not stated on the official list) |
| Altinbas University | Master | English | $6 900/yr |
| Yasar University | Master | English | $7 200/yr |
| Gelisim University | Master | English | $10 000/yr |
| Gelisim University | Master | Turkish | $10 000/yr |
| Bahcesehir University | Master | Turkish | $12 000 / whole programme, non-thesis (2026–27) |
| Bahcesehir University | Master | English | $14 000 / whole programme, thesis (2026–27) |
| Okan University | PhD | Turkish | $7 000 / whole programme (2026–27) |
| Okan University | PhD | English | $9 000 / whole programme (2026–27) |
| Topkapi University | PhD | Turkish | $9 900/yr |
| Topkapi University | PhD | English | $10 000/yr |
| Halic University | PhD | Turkish | $6 300 / whole programme (academic year not stated on the official list) |
| Yasar University | PhD | English | $16 000/yr |
| Bahcesehir University | PhD | English | $40 000 / whole programme (2026–27, Architecture and Design PhD) |
Ready to study architecture in Turkey?
During the free initial consultation, we clarify your goal, profile, timing, and budget and identify the next realistic step.
Get a consultationQuestions and answers
To become an architect in Turkey you need a high-school diploma, a language certificate and denklik (recognition of your previous education). Some universities ask for the YÖS or SAT exam. Under an agreement with StudyU, a consultant can compare universities within budget, help prepare documents and check published scholarship terms. Each university decides admission and confirms individual scholarship terms; funding bodies decide their awards.
Many Turkish universities offer programs in English. Programs in Turkish require a TÖMER certificate. Exact requirements depend on the university.
Compare current vacancies or published pay scales for the exact role, seniority and location you are considering. Check the required language, work authorisation and professional registration alongside compensation. A degree alone does not establish a salary or job offer. Personalised salary research is provided under an agreement with StudyU.